homemade-dinner-rolls21Well, as many of my friends and family who read this blog know I am seriously into coupon clipping and saving money — it is not as difficult as you would think (more posts later, I promise). In face I sometimes actually make money!

One change to our life is using our bread machine to replace all store bought bread. So questing for the best deals on assorted flours, grains, and other healthy ingredients.

A very important ingredient to bread making is ‘Vital Wheat Gluten’.  When added to bread dough, it helps retain the gas and steam from baking and gives more volume to the baked bread. Especially helpful to use with breads using coarse, whole grain flours, and cereals.

Therefore, I do not use ‘bread flour’ which is usually more expensive. This week I discovered at Giant Eagle (Pennsylvania) a great sale!

Bob’s Red Mill Vital Wheat Gluten flour (found in the organic section) on sale for $5.99 for 22 oz. Typically I purchase a Hogson Mills smaller box. This is a savings of .10 per oz or $2.20.

You may want to share the package (and the cost) with a friend!

