While perusing some of my favorite blogs with mind heavy thinking about ‘resolutions’ I read this from Generation Cedar:

And then, like the demonstration of placing larger rocks in the jar first so the smaller ones fit around it, I will prioritize the day, and put the big stuff in first. The stuff of eternal weight, no matter what others say is the most important. {emphasis mine}

I am prone to think that motherhood is a lot of crying out to God to bear me up, and a lot of smiling, talking and learning to enjoy my children as I try to show them glimpses of a Savior. Can I do those things? Won’t everything else fit in around that?”

graduationAs our children have grown {1 married, 1 college} our homeschooling emphasis slowly evolved from hands-on, ‘unschooling’ philosophy to full-scale panic focused on SAT scores and College applications.

Kelly’s simple reminder is like a breath of fresh air and will be at the top of my resolutions for 2009 ~~ the focus of our homeschooling plan should emphasize,

“The stuff of eternal weight, no matter what others say is important.”

