resolution1In a world that gets more complicated and convoluted daily, I thirst for the simplicity of Christ.

I don’t believe the Gospel and the Christian Life were intended to confuse and confound but instead to provide a clear understanding of Christ for the believer. Scripture was not written for a privileged few but for a broken, despairing, and eternally dying many.

To help understand the simple, abundant truths in Scripture, I look back to the puritans along with the 18th & 19th century theologians. The blessing was theirs to not be inundated by the cacophony of  ‘teachers’ who have special knowledge and their bold desire to share it!

Approaching the new year, I am examining the tradition of resolutions. To my pleasant surprise the idea seems to be biblical. Will be posting on this idea in the coming week.

My exploration led me to Johnathon Edwards, 18th Century Pastor and theologian from New England. Somewhere between 1722 and 1723 before he was the great theologian that he is now known to be; he wrote 70 Resolutions.

They were sensible, God-dependent, humble, and Christ-focused. So as I continue both my research on the tradition of resolutions and the formation of my own — I will use these guidelines modeled by Johnathon Edwards.

Being sensible that I am unable to do anything without God’s help, I do humbly entreat him by his grace to enable me to keep these Resolutions, so far as they are agreeable to his will, for Christ’s sake. Remember to read over these Resolutions once a week.
~~ Jonathon Edwards, Introduction to Resolutions.

 

