live-simply-saturday3I always know when the Lord
is speaking a word into my life — I “hear” IT in multiple places from multiple people . . .

My last thought before climbing into bed was, “Ahhhhhhhh, a morning without setting the alarm clock.” Expecting to awake around 6:30; so why is it at 4:50 a.m. I was wide awake???

Since Wednesday’s trip to the library I have been thinking about the new book, a can of peas by Traci DePree hardly able to wait until I could begin reading it. I knew nothing about the book or the author. The title peaked my interest and fueled my hopes. There is nothing like the promise of a great book ~~ especially if it is a series.

Perhaps the thought of solitude, a hot cup of coffee, and the book provided the momentum to eagerly jump out of bed. Fighting off the to-do-list thoughts was a bit challenging at first; yet, it was quickly forgotten as the charming story about a small town, a simple life, cherishing family, and the character’s struggles to adjust from the city unfolded.

Simultaneously, I was swept away into the story and into the memories of my own grandparent’s farm in Maine, the small town church we attended, and the small town life I remembered as a child.

Bliss-full contentment enveloped me and a renewed commitment to simplicity filled my soul. The minutes must have been especially designed for me, a lovely Saturday morning gift from our Father.

. . . the family wandered downstairs and I checked email. Waiting in my in-box was a devotion from Grace Gems based on Philippians 4:11-13.

I have learned to be content in whatever circumstances I am. I know both how to have a little–and I know how to have a lot. In any and all circumstances, I have learned the secret of being content–whether well-fed or hungry, whether in abundance or in need. I am able to do all things through Him who strengthens me.

In Him alone all contentment may be found.

