giftAre you inspired and motivated by challenges? I certainly am! As the current economic climate continues to be unstable and stormy we must either find contentment or be miserably in debt and unsatisfied with our homes and our lives.

Peggy at The Simple Woman has graciously gifted to us a weekly tool to find contentment: The Simple Woman’s Daybook. Every Monday I look forward to thinking and reflecting beyond the ordinary to see the extraordinary life the Lord has given me.

Of course the weekly chores are still listed in my daybook but they suddenly become elevated and holy as my mind moves from seeing them as often mundane and dreaded to

. . . beautiful as in jars of preserved relish 

. . . privileged as I plan for our homeschooling week

. . . abundant as I shop for groceries, prepare meals, and fold laundry

. . . extravagant as I strip wallpaper and paint a room

My thoughts continued down this path to also find everyday luxuries. Webster defines luxury as:

enjoyment of the best and most costly things that offer
the greatest comfort and satisfaction.

 What luxuries do we either already experience or could we simply create in our homes and in our lives?

. . . lighting spice-scented candles

. . . snuggled in a chair with a fine china cup & saucer brimming with hot tea 

. . . fresh chocolate chip cookies

. . . time to read cookbooks

. . . playing a board game during our lunch break

. . . taking a nap

While writing this  post my thoughts took another turn: If we really digest the definition of luxury: enjoyment of the best and most costly things that offer the greatest comfort and satisfaction. Isn’t the greatest luxury  the believer’s free gift from God of eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord (Romans 6:23)?

Living in luxury, 

