There are a number of blogs that from time to time I visit and if I read something that is edifying and/or contains Truth, or stands separate from the culture with a discerning Christian worldview I will bookmark it. Today, as I was quickly skimming these favorites, I stumbled onto a book review post over at Beauty of the Bible.

The book is Just Courage: God’s Great Expedition for the Restless Christian, by Gary Haugen. So “googled” Haugen. He is the president and CEO of International Justice Mission (IJM). AND also a whole lot of other information. Honestly, I googled, “haugen, emerging”. Might as well get to the bottom line as quickly as possible.

If I were interested in going down the proverbial rabbit hole on this subject, I had plenty of promising paths. The “click of death” was this: http://www.unchristian.com/contributors.asp. A speedy scan of the contributers of which Haugen is one; revealed: Andy Stanley, Andy Crouch, Rick Warren, Jim Wallis, and now a little drum role for the last name, BRIAN MCLAREN.

Since I am working on another project I returned to my favorite list and {DELETE FAVORITE} was my next action.

“If we say that we have fellowship with Him and yet walk in the darkness, we lie and do not practice the truth.” (1 John 1:6, NASB)

“The one who says, ‘I have come to know Him,’ and does not keep His commandments, is a liar and the truth is not in him; but whoever keeps His word, in him the love of God has truly been perfected. By this we know that we are in Him: the one who says he abides in Him ought himself to walk in the same manner as he walked.” (1 John 2:4-6)

