. . . a continuation from Part One

Habakkuk must have been so dismayed and shocked by God’s revelation. Although the promise of hope is buried in the promise of judgement;

I can imagine the internal struggle . . .
of unbelief,
of taking all my thoughts captive,
to fight the desire to pack my bags and RUN!

A fearful Habakkuk prayerfully begs God to remember mercy for His People while reminding himself that God DID intervene on Israel’s behalf, God DID redeem His People, and God DID provide a future for them.

God is merciful and defeats our enemies. Habakkuk continues:

 I heard and my inward parts trembled, At the sound my lips quivered. Decay enters my bones, And in my place I tremble. Because I must wait quietly for the day of distress, . . . (verse 3:16)

While experiencing real physical distress; the faithful prophet ends the prophecy with renewed commitment and affirmation of faith, expressing unwavering confidence in God. Indeed the Lord answered his prayer, the Lord would vindicate His righteousness and ultimately restore a truly repentant people.

While the answer satisfied Habakkuk, the thought of a Chaldean invasion of his people also left him physically exhausted and overwhelmed. Nevertheless, the prophet would wait quietly for the day of distress”  because he knew the Lord would judge righteously.

Though the fig tree should not blossom
And there be no fruit on the vines
Though the yield of the olive should fail
And the field produce no food,
Though the flock should be cut off from the fold
And there be no cattle in the stalls,
Yet I will exult in the Lord,
I will rejoice in the God of my salvation.
The Lord God is my strength,
And He has made my feet like hinds’ feet
And makes me walk on my high places.
(Verse 3:17-19)

If everything that is predictable and dependable were to collapse and not normally function; still the prophet will rejoice. Obedience to the convenant is a required element to the enjoyment of prosperity. Although disobedience would initiate the covenant curse, Habakkuk affirmed his commitment to the Lord; his longing and joyful desire was for God Himself. (MacArthur study notes)

to be continued . . .

